Why I Stayed in Nursing School

Guest Writer: Andrew Working, Nursing Student

AMW NursingIf you ask any new nursing student why they chose nursing as their major, the answer is likely, “Because I want to care for people”, or something that echoes that sentiment. That was my path when I became a nursing student. In my early life, I saw many fascinating medical events that drove my interest in nursing and the medical field. I wanted to care for patients, like the nurses who cared for my family. Nursing school, however, was not exactly what I anticipated. It was, and is, challenging; it is a gut wrenching experience. I spent countless hours studying, completing clinicals, and writing papers. Why would anyone stay in nursing school to experience all of this? When I realized why I stayed in nursing school, it was more powerful than I ever imagined.

Nursing is more than assessing patients and giving medications. It’s a constant learning experience, for the nurse and the patient. There are conversations about the medication, tears shed over emotional moments, joy when learning that a procedure went well. There are nights when a patient knows that the battle is lost, and there are times when the patient who was near death is walks out of the hospital. On top of all of this, there are hundreds of other moments that make it worth the work.

I stayed because of there are times I can look at a patient and know I made a difference. I stayed for the stories, the laughter, and even the tears. I stayed because of the confidence I gained when my hard work in class finally paid off in a clinical. Nursing is not easy, it tests every thing you have, but it is worth all of it and more.

Whether you are a nursing student now, or were once, I encourage you to think about what is keeping you going. Reevaluate why you chose nursing and why you stayed in the program. It might be the push you need to get the paper done, gain the confidence to apply for your dream job, or maybe take your education to the next step. So, take some time and think about what brought you here and what’s keeping you going. Hopefully, it’s just the encouragement you need.

Leave a Reply

